In time for the RWC we are launching a promotion on Kiwi wines, included in the bunch is a wine that I was initially sceptical about, Muddy Water’s Syrah. How I thought could this wine match up to the big Aussie bruisers, packed with mocha, spice and rich sweet dark fruit. Surely the Kiwi’s were deluding themselves, as much as us poor Irish are with the Idea that we might win this tournament, don’t get me wrong I’m all for Ireland as world Champions, but we lack something and I felt that this wine to would lack something.

Boy was I surprised! Muddy Water had been experimenting with both Syrah and Pinotage in their vineyards in Waipara, near Christchurch on the South Island. As far as they know, these to experimental blocks of vines are the most southerly grown Syrah and Pinotage in the world! Most of New Zealand’s Syrah is produced in Hawkes Bay on the North Island. Anyway the wine itself is was hand harvested and fermented in small batches, then it  spent 21 months in oak barrels before the batches were blended and bottled.

Perfumed with plums, cherries, chocolatey, peppery spices and hints of sage. A smooth mellow wine with lovely supple tannins with the classic black pepper finish. Ready to drink now and very easy to like. As a result of this wine I have been turned into one of those people who believe the boys in Green will not only do us proud but could actually do it! Crazy I know but this wine was actually that good. But William Webb Ellis was also probably taught crazy when he first picked up a football and ran with it in school yard in the town of Rugby.